Users are recommended to read the release notes of the firmware a user is downloading. By reading the release notes a user is notified about the details of the configuration settings that are going to get removed after the update process. A user can create a backup of the settings through the routerlogin.net window so that after the update process he can easily restore it into the router. Users are also advised to avoid the risk of failure of the update process. After the Firmware Update process, you can check the status page of your router to confirm whether the new firmware has successfully been uploaded or not.